Photo detail

Camera Maker Canon Camera Model Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III
Aperture f/3.5 Exposure Value 0 EV
Exposure Program Manual Exposure Time 1/100 sec
Flash No Flash Focal Length 35 mm
ISO 640 Metering Mode Pattern
Date/Time 2010:01:16 05:52:27 Resolution Unit Inch
X Resolution 240 dots per ResolutionUnit Y Resolution 240 dots per ResolutionUnit
Exposure Mode 1 Keywords travel United States of America United States America USA US Georgia GA Chatham County Savannah history historical historic historical marker famous landmark road side highway popular Place of Interest Places of Interest Tourist Attraction Tourist Attractions Tourist Destination Tourist Destinations Travel Destination Travel Destinations tour tourism tourist attraction destination Georgia Historical Society L.K. Tefft William Bacon Stevens Richard D. Arnold John Macpherson Berrien Andrew Jackson James M. Wayne Henry R. Jackson Hodgson Hall Margaret Telfair Hodgson Mary Telfair William Brown Hodgson
Caption Georgia Historical Society Founded 1839 The Georgia Historical Society, founded May 24, 1839, is one of the oldest historical societies in the country. Among its founders were L.K. Tefft, the noted autograph collector; William Bacon Stevens, historian, physician and prelate; and Dr. Richard D. Arnold, who as Mayor of Savannah formally surrendered the City to Gen. Sherman in 1864. The Presidents of the Society have included John Macpherson Berrien, Attorney General under President Jackson and United States Senator; James M. Wayne, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States; and Henry R. Jackson, jurist, soldier, diplomat and poet. Hodgson Hall, the home of the Society, is a repository for books, newspapers and manuscripts relating to the history of Georgia. Dedicated in 1876, the building was a gift of Margaret Telfair Hodgson and Mary Telfair as a memorial to William Brown Hodgson, the distinguished scholar of Oriental languages and United States Dragoman and Consul to the Barbary States and Turkey. 025-13 Georgia Historical Commission 1953