VA-Z95 Washington County

Marker text: Washington County
Washington County was formed from the extinct Fincastle County in 1776; portions of Montgomery County was added later. The county is named for Revolutionary War leader and first president of the United States George Washington. Emory & Henry College, located in the community of Emory, opened its doors to students in 1838. It is the oldest institution of higher learning in southwestern Virginia. Abingdon, the county seat, is the site of the renowned Barter Theatre. In 1946 the theatre was designated the State Theatre of Virginia.
Department of Historic Resources, 2003

Today in Marker History


View more information