VA-X11 Tazewell

Marker text: X11 Tazewell
The town was laid off as the county seat, in 1800, when Tazewell County was formed, on land given by William Peery and Samuel Ferguson. First known as Jeffersonville, the name was changed to Tazewell, for Senator Henry Tazewell. Averell was here in May, 1864, and the town was occupied in other raids. It was incorporated in 1866.
Virginia Conservation Commission, 1941

Today in Marker History


View more information