VA-X6 Russell Courthouse

Marker text: X6 Russell Courthouse
The county government was organized at Russell's Fort, May 9, 1786, with the following officers: Alexander Barnett, county lieutenant; David Ward, sheriff; Henry Dickenson, clerk; justices: Alexander Barnett, Thomas Carter, Henry Smith, Henry Dickenson, David Ward, John Thompson, Samuel Ritchie. The present courthouse was built in 1874.
Virginia Conservation Commission, 1940

Today in Marker History


View more information