VA-X4 Old Russell County Courthouse

Marker text: X4 Old Russell County Courthouse
This building, erected in 1799, served as the second courthouse of Russell County and is one of the earliest public buildings still standing in southwest Virginia. Russell County was formed in 1786 from Washington County and originally encompassed the greater part of what now is Lee, Scott, Wise, Dickenson, Buchanan, and Tazewell counties. The county sold the building when the county seat was moved to the town of Lebanon in 1818.
Department of Conservation and Historic Resources, 1986

Today in Marker History


View more information