VA-Z209 Craig County

Marker text: CRAIG COUNTY

Nestled in the mountains of Southwest Virginia, Craig County was named for Robert Craig, a 19th-century Virginia congressman. Formed from Botetourt, Roanoke, Giles, and Monroe (in present-day West Virginia) Counties in 1851, it was enlarged with several subsequent additions from neighboring counties. The secluded, mountainous New Castle community, the county seat, features one of the commonwealth's antebellum court complexes, including a porticoed courthouse built in 1851. Craig Healing Springs, a collection of well-preserved early-20th-century resort buildings representative of the architecture of Virginia's more modest mountain spas, is located here.

Department of Historic Resources, 1999

Today in Marker History


View more information