SC-40-77 Senate Street

Marker text: SENATE STREET

The South Carolina General Assembly created Columbia as the state's capital city in 1786, and Senate Street was named for the upper house of that legislative body. In 1790, the General Assembly, which designated that the town be located on the Congaree River near Friday's Ferry, first met in Columbia in the new State House, designed by James Hoban, who later designed the White House.

Erected by Richland County Bicentennial Commission Sponsored by Standard and Savings and Loan Association, 1978

Today in Marker History


View more information