Marker text: WINCHESTER HOUSE
Built by Sarah Winchester, widow of rifle manufacturer William Winchester, this unique structure includes many outstanding elements of Victorian architecture and fine craftsmanship. Construction began in 1884 and continued without interruption until Mrs. WinchesterÕs death in 1922. The continual building and remodeling created a 160-room house covering an area of six acres.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 868
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the Winchester Mystery House Inc., May 13, 1974.